first half over

Though work and business has kept me from being a loyal blogger, it has not kept me from being a loyal Braves fan. My apologies to quite possibly my only blog reader, my Granddaddy Skip.

Early morning work kept me from staying up for the entire All-Star game last night, but I turned my radio station to the sports talk radio this morning to hear that the AL took the win. After the NL started off putting runs on the board I thought maybe the losing streak would end and the NL would gain world series home field avantage. but nope.

I don’t really know how I feel about the establishment of the instant replay in MLB that will probably be in effect by this postseason. My first thoughts are that MLB is unique in the way that the sport does not use the instant replay and we have to accept the decisions of the umpires. For close plays in the infield I think we should trust the umps, I mean they are right there and usually have a good position to see the play. But the instant replay device would greatly help the umpires decide calls that affect homeruns and plays in the outfield. It is obviously hard for the umpires to get a perfectly accurate call on plays like that. It is just hard to except the fact that the game is changing. Technology is taking over… there is a new, bigger, more profitable stadium for the Yankees and MLB is adopting the ability for instant replay.

Braves fans are all hoping for a better 2nd half of the season. We are going to really need to step it up if we are going to make it to October.

 

Leave a comment